Fire Commissioners Elected Tuesday Night

Incumbent commissioner in Wading River wins by a single vote.

Credit: File photo
Credit: File photo
On Tuesday night, community members voted in their respective fire district commissioner elections, re-electing incumbents in Riverhead, Jamesport, Wading River and Flanders


Incumbent commissioner Dennis Hammill won his seat from challenger Kevin Barty at the polls by 216 votes.


Challenger John Newman lost his bid to unseat incumbent Joel Lazarus in a vote of 89 to 29.

Wading River

Incumbent Timothy Deveny was elected in a vote of 231-230. He was challenged by write-in candidate Glenn Erick.


Incumbent Robert Merker re-took his seat with 22 votes in an uncontested race.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something